From ‘Urwa who said:

‘Whenever I used to get up in the morning, [when I go out] I would start with visiting the house of ‘Aaishah (radhiyallaahu ‘anhaa) so as to greet her.

One day I went there and she was standing in prayer and reciting [the verse]:

فَمَنَّ اللَّهُ عَلَيْنَا وَوَقَانَا عَذَابَ السَّمُومِ

“But Allaah has been gracious to us, and has saved us from the torment of the Fire.” [1]

 

[‘Urwa continues to say]:  [She was reciting it] and supplicating, and crying, and repeating it.

So I stood there waiting for her [to finish so as to greet her].

But I got tired.

So I went to the market for a need of mine. 

And when I returned, she was still standing there as I left her, praying and crying.”  [2]

 

 

Footnotes:

[1] Sooratut-Toor :27

 

[2] Taken from the new Publication: The Excellence of ‘Aisha -The Mother of The Believers- The Truthful, The daughter of the Truthful

Narration no.7,  Under the Chapter: Her Piety and Uprightness

Original Source: Sifatus-Safwaa :1/178

